Honorary Degrees

The University of Kansas awards honorary degrees as an exceptional honor to individuals of notable intellectual, scholarly, professional, or creative achievement, or service to humanity.  An honorary degree recognizes the extraordinary contributions of an individual to the sciences, arts, humanities, or other contributions to humanity.

KU awards four honorary degrees:

Doctor of Laws (L. L. D.) Notable service to humanity or the professions or contributions to the general welfare of the state, the nation, or the world. 
Doctor of Science (Sc. D.) Notable contribution to any science including medicine, the natural, clinical, social and behavioral sciences, engineering, and mathematics.
Doctor of Arts (D. A.) Notable contribution to any artistic field including creative and performing arts, music, design, and architecture.
Doctor of Letters (Litt. D.) Notable contribution to the humanities, including history, philosophy, language, literature, religion, and critical and cultural studies.

Kansas Board of Regents policy states that an honorary degree shall not be awarded for philanthropic activity or service to the University or the State of Kansas, nor conferred upon any faculty member, administrator, or other official associated with the University until at least five years after such individual has been separated from the institution, nor conferred upon any holder of a Kansas elected or appointed public office until at least five years after such individual has vacated office.

While Alumni of the University of Kansas should not be excluded from consideration, the University will continue to recognize distinguished Alumni contributions by many other awards.  See more about nominations.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times